Stupid Eurorack Questions

Okay, so Im interested in a first date with Rample, but i have zero experience with Eurorack. I’m interested, but i get overwhelmed by all the beginner oriented articles that focus so heavily on the areas where i dont have questions…because Ive read the dang articles. Heh heh

Heres the question:
If at first i wanted to go as inexpensive as possible, and just focus on the Rample, i imagine bare minimum Id need is:

• case
  • power supply (these two often come together)
  • output module to get the levels right

Would you concur? Share some info to help me decide?

The Rample already has MIDI In.
Would be controlled by Pyramid.
Im looking at some of the small cases/power supplies from 4ms and expect, if i get the Eurorack bug, to replace it with something else at a later date.

Note: my avoidance of Eurorack is based on my preference to be able to pgm stuff on the fly via SysEx or MIDI CC. Im fine in a digital environment, mostly. I just like to recall parameters with a bit of MTPro code and/or PgmChg msgs.

Self quarantine has me shopping online more than usual. Sorry.

Hello Creepy.

I very recently dipped my toes into Eurorack on a similar…‘looks fun!’ tip. So let me share some of my beginner learnings.

Yes a 4ms pod ought to do you here for rample + output module (I’ll get to that bit). But check module depth and pod case depth. I mention as I was considering one to house an Expert Sleepers ES-3 as a ‘breakout box’ but found the 4ms pod was too shallow. Only by like a couple of mm. (Bearing in mind there would be a ribbon cable floating around in there too though). In actual fact I think it’s more that the ES-3 is comparatively deep than the pods are comparatively shallow…but anyway, just check.

Power wise I’m sure it will he adequate for 1 or 2 contemporary modules. But do check. Digital ones like rample are much more power hungry than traditional VCFs, VCOs etc. Modular Grid is your friend here.