Set step length in the piano roll?

Hi

While I’m waiting for mine to come, I wonder if you can also input the length of a step by just holding a step and press any of the steps on the right of that same step, to make it extend to that step? Similar to the Deluge and Oxi.

I only have seen video’s where steps are added in the piano roll with the chosen step length shown on the screen, but I would love to change it easily using the grid?

2 Likes

no, not currently

1 Like

Not currently… does that mean that it will come? :slight_smile:

Nope… I’ve no knowledge of future plans.

I’d assume once users get their units they can make feature requests , Squarp will determine viability, and then prioritize alongside other requests and issues.
Well that’s the normal procedure.

2 Likes

This does actually make a lot of sense. It would put the grid to use in a good and intuitive way, it seems.
(And that OXI and Deluge does it like this, could perhaps be a telltale that it works.)

1 Like

Ive a feeling I did ask for this, at the same time as the showing of note length
(because I was familiar with this same behaviour on the Push2… actually maybe even Push1 did it too!)

so it may, or may not, be on their (large) list of ideas :wink:

1 Like

It works really great on the Deluge, Oxi, OP-Z etc. This is also the way most DAW:s work. I´m a bit surprised it´s not implemented from the start, but perhaps Hapax do things different from these. Haven´t got my hands on one. Yet. :wink:

1 Like

Agree, its one of the UX things the OXI did really really well. Building complex piano roll stuff on it was a breeze.

The issue from a ux perspective is hold pad and then pressing another pad is being used for region selection.

and thats handy too, so not sure this is really possible.

Perhaps they can make an exception it’s in the same lane but that smells a bit :poop: , as does using 2nd for select.