Zoom + Granular

Hi, This is my first post. I am new to my pyramid and luv it and I am starting to delve into to its creative possibilities. Thank you so much for all the contributions on this forum. Sooo helpful! Also i have never posted to a forum and i hope i am following rules correctly! I searched for granular and have not found a post related so here it goes:

Has anyone created a work flow around a granular type process with the zoom function? i.e. recording midi with long gate lengths then combing through it by muting high resolution zoomed steps?

its not exactly granular i am interested in - i guess i find the process of building layers in this sequencer makes me want to try the opposite process of starting with a block of sound and removing pieces. - as a method of song or project building. like i would like to try approaching time as increments of space rather than increments of sound which seems antithetical to a sequencers set up but i have an instinct pyramid has room for this kind if process. thanks !!

Welcome!

I’m not 100% sure what you mean, but I think you mean putting in a single note (for example) of 4 bars length, then zooming in and muting parts of that note, so instead of this:

█████████████████████

you’d have this:

▌▌▌▌▌▌▌▌▌▌▌▌▌▌▌▌▌▌▌▌▌

Is that correct?

If so, the Pyramid won’t let you do that per se, as each note has a note down, and then a length with a note up at the end, so you would not be able to mute parts of the middle easily.

However, you could put the Arpeggiator effect on, so it would do a note repeat instead of a single long note, then consolodate the track to write the output MIDI to the track, then mute steps in the resulting track?

1 Like

Loz, Thanks for the feedback with the visuals. Yes the idea of finding a work around to produce for a sustained drone that runs across many steps by using arpeggiator and consolidate is exactly the type of work flows I am looking for.