Warp makes triplets, but not quintuplets

Following the manual’s example of warping, in drum mode, I put down three consecutive hi hats starting at the down beat, hold down all three pads, then press [+]. I get three in the space of four, and I can hear the triplets against my 4-on-the-floor kick. Starting over on the hi hats track, I put down five consecutive hi hats, very carefully hold down all five pads, and press [-]. I don’t get five in the space of four, but a 16th note rhythm that’s not regular. The fifth note falls before the next downbeat as it should, but the spacing of the five is not regular.

Also, when I do this to the hi hat track, the 4-on-the-floor kick track gets modified, too. One time when this happened, the kick track’s second beat got moved one pad to the left. When I replaced it, I was actually getting correct quintuplets on the hi hat track, its five notes coming out spaced regularly. This is my first try with warping. Am I misunderstanding something, or is this feature still not reliable?

1 Like

I also noted that the warp doesn’t work reliable. You need to take the quantization out of the track otherwise the effect doesn’t work.

1 Like

Thanks. I already had quantization off for the track and the project.

I’ll investigate this

2 Likes

I am not able to reproduce this issue.
WARP works perfectly as intended on my side.

If pQUANT (project quantization) is ON, you’ll have to set the quantize strength to 0% in the track for it not to be affected.

Just for reference, please note WARP, quantize and SWING FX all work differently.

1. WARP is a “step programming” feature. It is destructive, and moves the programmed notes. It is essentially a shortcut to complex uTIME.