The Hapax and MPE Stupport: Discussion

I know this has been discussed a couple of times before but I want to bring it up again, because I’m realizing this is the biggest sticking point for using the Hapax exactly how I would like. I plan to continue editing this post with updates, and use it as a resource to help others who would like to use the Hapax in conjuction with an MPE compatible controller (eg. the ROLI Seaboard).

Now I would like to preface with the disclaimer that I am not an expert on MIDI or MPE, and am really not much more than a novice. So if there is any incorrect information contained in this post, please comment so I can update accordingly. Now, on to the good stuff.

Brief Outline of MPE

In 2018 the MIDI Manufacturers Associations adopted the MIDI Polyphonic Expression (MPE) ehancement into the official MIDI Specification. What does this mean?

MPE allows controllers to send additional expression information along with each note. In MPE, each note is assigned its own MIDI channel so the expressions can apply to each note individually, rather than as a global control. For example an “aftertouch” or “pressure” expression being sent to a chord of a polyphonic MPE synthesizer can apply that expressions to each voice individually, rather than the synthesizer output as a whole.

Generally, MIDI Channel 1 is reserved for “global” controls, and then channels 2-16 are reserved for sending Note ON/OFF messsages and Expression data for each individual note. It appears some controllers pre-assign a midi channel to each note on the piano roll, and others assign a new channel to each new note played in unison (ie. the first note played is Ch. 2, then additional notes are on Ch. 3, 4, 5, etc.).