Switching patterns

Hi,
I’m new to the Pyramid, had it for a week now, and I wonder if there is a way to switch between patterns within a given track more easily. I like the way the Beatstep Pro handles this, and it would be great to have a simple and straightforward way on the Pyramid for it, too. Using Step+Pattern is OK, but in a live situation is easy to confuse the pattern numbers.
So, is there another way to switch the patterns?

Besides doing it manually, the only way I know how to do it is by recording a Sequence, but i wish there was another way.

I use Sequences for live performance. My set is mapped out and all of my program changes and CC stuff is programmed so the less I have to think about live the more room that gives me to “jam” FX, filters, etc within the song structure.

This is a structured workflow which I wouldn’t use for a more improv set. For those, I rely on Tracks over Sequences but in that case I wouldn’t rely on Patterns bc of the same issue you’re running into. However, 4 banks of 16 Tracks is a ton for doing an improv set imo.

These are the workflows I’ve been using and enjoy w the Pyramid!

I think it would be great if this were easier to access for a live context. My proposal would be to:

Hold the pad to the corresponding track (in TRACK mode) and rotate the main encoder knob.

I think this would be great, as the above currently isn’t assigned to any action.

So, in Track Mode, you push a pad and then turn an encoder.

In Track Mode, pushing a pad Mutes/Unmutes a Track.

How would the OS differentiate upon a “pad push” event between Mute/Unmute or “wait to see if the encoder knob is turned”?

The pyramid is able to distinguish between a hold and a press, as evident when step editing.

Step editing is not time sensitive.
But point taken.

Personally I’d be fine with being able to select pattern via MIDI, as in Note# = Track and Velocity = Pattern

2 Likes