Randomizer / Pitch percentage?

Hey. I have been using Pyramid for a few months now and I must say that I am reasonably satisfied so far. Yet I notice that there are a number of illogical settings, such as the RANDOMIZER / PITCH. Why should RAND + and - be set as a percentage and not as a number of notes? For a musician this is not a common line of thought. And how should I interpret this percentage? Should I then assume a percentage of the MIDI note number or a percentage with regard to the entire range, where 1% stands for 1.28 notes?

I think every Randomizer function need an attenuator knob in the setting

1 Like

This is a good question and I am curious about the true answer as well. Donā€™t know if Squarp actually still checks the forum, but I would consider an answer from anyone other than the official Squarp support to be merely speculation.

That said - hereā€™s my speculation.

I think of that Ā± percentage in the same way that it sounds like Sinapsya does - as an attenuation of the offset that the randomizer wants to apply. Example:

Letā€™s say I have my ā€œRand-ā€ set to 10% and my ā€œRand+ā€ set to 50%. And then letā€™s say I hit note 48. The RNG now generates a random offset to add to my note. The parameters to that random call are just my speculation, but letā€™s say that it basically chooses a random number in the range of (-48, 79) [since I hit note 48, these are the boundaries that would cover the full range of 0-127 MIDI notes.]

So letā€™s say that the number it produced was -21.
Since this is a negative value, my 10% negative attenuation gets applied, so we multiply -21 * 10% and get a -2.1.
So that would round to a -2 and the resulting note that is sent to the instrument is 48 - 2 = 46

Now, letā€™s say I hit 48 again and this time, the random number that it generates is +74.
Now my 50% positive attenuation is applied, so 74 * .50% = +37.
Which means that the resulting note that will be played is 48 + 37 = 85.