Pyramid midi-in latency

Hey there!

I am new to the Squarp Pyramid and I am already loving it!
However I have a problem with midi-in latency. Since I am more of a keyboard player, it is very annoying that all the synths react to the midi data with a slight delay.

My setup:
Midi Keyboad –> midi cable –> Pyramid –> midi cable –> Synth

When I play from the Master Keyboard there is a slight delay. When I play with the Buttons on the Pyramid, there is no delay. So I guess the problem is the midi in reaction time of the Pyramid?

Are there any settings I could try? Maybe to filter the midi data on the Pyramid’s input?

Apart from this, the Pyramid is just amazing :slight_smile:

Thank you and all the best!
Jonas

It happens sometimes, not very often.
Causes to my knowledge:
1- The order you’re turning on your gear >> wait until the screen is ready
2- cheap midi boxes between keyboard and pyramid

You’ll need to figure out and the forum will give you more suggestions

2 Likes

Thanks for your answer :slight_smile:
I will try experimenting with the order of powering up the gear!

I did expect the Midi box to be the problem. I have a Kenton thru 12 between the Pyramid and my Synths. However I unplugged everything and tried a setup with direct in and out as stated in my post:
Midi Keyboad –> midi cable –> Pyramid –> midi cable –> Synth

The Problem remains exactly the same.

Since the latency only occurs when the Pyramid is triggered by an external device, the latency is probably happening because of the midi in processing of the Pyramid.

I also tried different external devices as a master keyboard and different synths as a receiving gear. It all comes down to the input processing of the Pyramid.
That’s why I was wondering if there is a way to make this part more efficient.

Also I have to mention that the latency is quite small. But it makes playing funky stuff very difficult.

1 Like

Do you have Quantise/Humanise or any other MIDI FX on your Active Track?

2 Likes