Proposal: Alternate approach to drum track layout

I am also submitting this as a feature request, but as a product designer, I appreciate seeing how users plan to use my products. I am also curious if this is something that others might be interested in.

Current Drum track layout:

8 different drums layout out in 8 groups of 12 with a different velocity per pad. This is largely unnecessary for most of the drum hardware I and others use. The biggest limitation is that it is only 8 drum triggers per track. Typically, I see around 16 being fairly common on other controllers.

Proposal 1

Allow 16 drums per track with half as many velocity levels. That would be more than adequate for most scenarios.

Proposal 2

Allow the user to define up to 128 drums on a track along with the velocity for each. This way, for the drums that are velocity sensitive, I could add a few pads with varying velocity levels and for the rest, it would be one pad per trigger.

What do you think?

1 Like

Although I can see why you might want more than 8 drum sounds, my my Electribe SX has 9, and my Elektron Rytm has 12, 8 is actually usually more than enough at any one time I’ve found.

There is a very obvious reason to think more is more flexible, and therefore better, I think the limitation might make you consider things a bit more (at least in my experience) and 16 - for me - is way too many.

It’s easy enough, I think, to have 2 drum tracks, one for your ‘rhythm section’ (or ‘meat and potatoes’ percussion if you will) and then a second for more ‘percussion-y’ sounds, which also in a way would give you even more flexibility, as you then essentially have 64 different variations, rather than just 8.

But horses for courses, as always. Your mileage may vary.

1 Like

That makes sense. My use case may not be common, but here’s where I am coming from: