Problem calling an instrument with a definition file

Newbie here … Just registered. So hello everybody ! :slightly_smiling_face:
I love my pyramid !!

But when I created my CC/Notes definition file with 2 instruments: a synth and a drum- machine on the SD card, some problem occurs.

The Pyramid recognizes the files when I do 2nd+TRACK and I select CALL. It shows my 2 files names.
But when I select one of the instruments (making sure port and MIDI channel are the same than on the file) using the top encoder and clicking on the instrument, nothing happens !! The track doesn’t get renamed, in fact it’s as if no instrument got called.
Also when I go to STEP and to CC messages mode, the CC list shown is the default list and doesn’t reflect my instrument CC list at all.

What’s happening ??

Welcome to the forum!

Some ideas
-I had some issues when using my first def files. Make sure you use the title def.txt for the file name. I named it something else and had problems.

-have you checked to see if someone else has created a definition file already?

-Also, are your text definiton files using the same MIDI channels as your synth and drum machine?

Hope some of this helps!

Best way to debug this is for you to post your definition file. It may be malformed in some way, and/or we can try loading it ourselves to see whether it works for someone else.

Yeah, by the sound of it there are about two things that can be wrong: either the definition files are not in plaintext ASCII format (you need to use a text editor, not word processor), or there’s some sort of syntax error in them. The Pyramid is not too helpful in diagnosing these problems, if there’s anything wrong with the definitions they just silently refuse to work.

1 Like

Thanks to all respondents !!