Organization for "songs"

Hi folks! I’m a musician starting to use the Pyramid to build flexible sequences of bass and drums for me to play/loop Rhodes piano on top of, also looping percussion, sax, flute, voice, whatever with a boss looper. Kind of making electro/analog chill-out music, but live.

The question I have is this: is anyone else doing anything similar which requires lots of different songs and how are you going about this? Putting all of the songs into separate projects doesn’t work because of the load time pause/glitch when clicking the “load/save” menu. So I’m trying to incorporate lots of songs of a similar style into one project. Do you have any suggestions for me? Using patterns on the bass track works well for me to switch between tunes, however I fear after adding 100 songs in 20 different projects I’m going to have a lot of trouble remembering which pattern goes to which songs/which part of a song, especially since I can’t name the patterns.

Ideas…? I’ll keep experimenting anyways, but maybe someone can give me some tips. Cheers!

This is an excellent opportunity for discussion, thank you for raising the question. I’m a big picture person and it took me a long time to figure out how I wanted to interface with the Pyramid. More convos like these might help others down the road.

I use an outboard MIDI controller processed through a Event Processor to control Mute states for Tracks on the Pyramid. In my most recent previous set incarnation, I had all Pattern01’s belong to Song01, Pattern02s to Song02, etc. This left me with 64 Tracks to manipulate for each ‘song’/presentation, and then a quick press of one of the Pyramid Pads to select a new ‘song’.

Unfortunately I wanted to get more creative with MIDI Fx and I easily use 64 Tracks in one song so I switched to one song = one Project.