Nord Drum 2 - how to start?

Hi, I am a beginner and would like some advice for the settings and how to start. I read the manual but f.e. I just get the base drum sounding. Do I have to use 6 tracks for the 6 channels of the nord drum? Or how do I tell the pyramid witch sound he should use from the synth? Is this done with cc messages? I dont want you to write a complete tutorial for me, I just need tips where to start to work on beats with the pyramid and the nord drum 2. I’m a newbie and got stuck… thanks in advance, and please dont wtite ‘read the manual’ but give hints which chapters or youtube-links… :wink:

Hi,

I don’t own a Nord2 but I will try and help you. You need to send MIDI notes from the Pyramid to the N2 to trigger different voices. You can either send them all on the same MIDI channel (which should be the global channel on the N2) or separate MIDI channels which you can define on the N2 per voice) Would suggest you keep it simple to begin with and just use the global channel.

On that channel, send MIDI note numbers 60, 62, 64, 65, 67 and 69 (C4-A4) from the Pyramid, this will trigger the different voices on the N2. One note for each voice. However, these are factory defaults and if the N2 is not using factory default settings to respond to those note messages, you may have to put each voice into MIDI learn mode. If you do this, the next MIDI note that you send to a voice in learn mode will be the one that it responds to from then on.

If that seems overwhelming for now, just put in a load of steps on the same note and move it up and down the piano roll until you hear other voices sounding.