Newbish Midi question, halp

Can i mute/unmute tracks from another sequencer?
Ex. Id like to mute/unmute tracks when i change patterns on my digitakt

Or maybe find a way to link pyramid sequences to patterns on the digitakt, so id just have to send one message instead of multple track mutes

Is that what pyramidi is for?

Ive had the pyramid for a couple months and have been mostly getting my workflow figured out and im finally interested in marrying it to my other main sequencer (digitakt) and since the 'takt is a little bitch about recieving pattern change messages at the beginning of a sequence id prefer to use it how i mentioned above, im not super fluent in midi so im not sure how to set this up

Help?

Sorry - noticed an error in my response. Don’t have tyime to fix it right now, will repost later today.

1 Like

Apologies: I’m not very good with (spoken/written) language, so I can understand this question to mean possibly several different things. Sorry.

You can Mute/Unmute Tracks on the Pyramid via MIDI messages, either CC or Notes. Any device that can send the correct MIDI CC or MIDI Note event can Mute/Unmute Pyramid Tracks.

If you are asking if the Pyramid can Mute/Unmute Tracks that are being played on another sequencer, the answer would depending on the MIDI Implementation of the other sequencer.

If you want to Mute/Unmute Pyramid Tracks via MIDI, review the Manual, specifically the MIDI Implementation Chart. Sending the correct MIDI CC’s or MIDI Notes (depending on which you want to use, based on the MIDI Implementation chart) will Mute/Unmute Pyramid Tracks using PyraMIDI

It can be more complex than it seems it should be, but MIDI is very basic. It just gets weird when companies interpret how they expect us to work with their gear and how things get synchronised.