Midi sync with ableton pain SEMI SOLVED

UPDATE: I have really solid syncing using the Ableton CV Clock Out device. Put it through alot of hours. It just works and I wanted to share incase anyone deals with this. Here are the settings:
1/16 Normal NOT PPQN , AMP 100, 5.8% LENGTH, Transport none (handled by the auto feature on hapax), and Trigger. just make sure when you use the hapax auto feature you wait the 2 seconds in between start and stops.

I got dominated last night for like 5 hours trying to get a good clock going with ableton as host. I do tests by sending clock to hapax, then sending step data off hapax to a synth, and recording the synths audio in ableton.

My experience with doing this usually is sending midi straight from ableton to the synths, and that is not that hard to compensate for using compensation tools built into ableton. generally i’ll do a 14 milisecond or so offset and it will be almost exactly on consistently.

however this is my first time sending clock to a sequencer and then sending notes from the sequencer to the synths instead of from ableton.

it is proving much more varied and inconsistent. i know how to adjust midi sync clock start from ableton and how to test it using test notes and test sounds to measure for consistency. but every time i adjust, and retest, it still randomly will be 20 milliseconds off or something like that. sometimes far worse. i will try again and get similar results.

i am already considering a usamo sleeper because i don’t currently have a DC coupled interface.

questions: since i have never really sent clock to a sequencer and then notes from the sequencer to a synth and then recorded the output, i am unsure if this is even a viable setup? is this a problem specific to hapax or would this occur with any sequencer - problem being that the variability is too large and random to competently compensate for. is there a solution for this with the current routing? will a usamo sleeper fix this?