Metronome velocity different on MIDI A vs MIDI B

Hello, I’m new to the Pyramid and returning to synthesizers after a bit of a break, but been playing off and on since the mid 80s.

Trying to setup the Pyramid to play the metronome sound on an Alesis SR18, semi-open hi-hat for now.

I got it working if the SR18 is connected to MIDI A. But if connected to MIDI B and changing the metronome channel I can’t hear anything. The monitor is showing the appropriate note at velocity 127 on the first beat and 64 on subsequent beats. If I switch the SR18 for a synth and test the two MIDI ports/metronome channels the metronome is much louder on MIDI A than it is on MIDI B with no other changes than swapping the output port and changing the metronome channel.

So while the MIDI monitor is showing the same velocities out when using A or B, it appears I’m receiving a much lower velocity when using MIDI B for the metronome.

Is there some kind of velocity setting within the Pyramid that I’m missing? PyraOS is 3.23.

Thank you.

very odd…

there should be no difference sending on DIN A or B.
and the midi monitor (info screen) should be saying what’s being sent out…
Id be very surprised if this is ‘misleading’ you.

does the same happen if you send notes from a normal track out of DIN A/B?
also with different sounds on the SR18? (to eliminate possibly of some kind of choking behaviour on hat)

just wondering if this can be tied as as specific problem to the metronome or its all note output.
similarly if its something ‘interesting’ going on with your hi-hat, and timing?

seems like a really odd thing for velocities to be different… or how/why that would happen.
unfortunately, its hard to say what to try
what I would personally do is use an external midi monitor, to look at the midi.
e.g. if you have a midi din to use cable, you could route it to your computer to check.