32 bar limit - Thought experiment/hapax + pyramid

Disclaimer - while i have lots of experience with sequencing, i’m a beginner with the hapax. Let me say what i would like to accomplish, and then one of you experts on these 2 sequencers can maybe make fun of my idea :slight_smile:

So - i’m loving the hapax. I especially am loving the elasticity feature. My one disappointment with the hapax thus far is the 32 bar recording limit (which, if i interpreted my email response correctly, cannot be lengthened in firmware.)

I’m sure there are multiple ways to try to get at this - lowering the tempo, for instance. I think that the resolution would still be pretty good, but recording a very long passage would still not be possible. I think that you can record for a very long time in loop mode on the pyramid, but then you are obviously lacking the new features and enhancements of the hapax.

hmmmmm - now, how far could you get by recording live into the hapax, using the elasticity feature, and then recording the output into the pyramid? hmmmmm - that wouldn’t quite work - i don’t think you can record multiple tracks like this at once into the pyramid, and then how would the elasticity feature work?

one could set up a 32 bar sequence on the hapax, and just record the whole output over time into the pyramid…but then why bother with the pyramid…

and then i don’t remember if the pyramid records mpe (well, it’s just midi, but i don’t think that the channels would work correctly).

when i think through this, it just wouldn’t work. i thought for a nanosecond of replacing my hapax with the pyramid, but hell - the hapax is such a brilliantly designed sequencer.

i’m trying to wrap my head around playing live (using the linnstrument) into the hapax and recording that into the pyramid, but i think that even if doing something like loop recording on the hapax and overwriting rather than overdubbing, i’d lose any possibility of using the elasticity feature. and multiple tracks…