Help with quantize like the Elektrons

Hello,

I’m new to the Hapax and I’m slowly migrating over from the Elektron workflow sequencer. The Hapax is wonderful, but I might be missing something with quantizing and utime when live recording.

I like record some of my melodies live from the Hapax’s using the live option with the pads or from the keystep and I am trying to set it up similar to the Digitone/Digitakts 1/16 steps and quantized. I set the track to 1/16 and hit record and play and expect to be quantized, but due to my bad timings everything is off and not quantized and I have to spend ages manually moving the notes and also setting the utime to 0.

I think I am being stupid, what am I doing wrong here? I was hoping to get it similar to the Elekton’s then once I’m there is start to explore to move away from that world.

Thanks.

Squarp doesn’t do quantize like Elektron which may or may not be a good thing.

With Elektron the quantize is destructive so everything is physically snapped to the grid and you would then nudge things back off grid manually for some humanization.

With the Squarp workflow, quantize is non-destructive and is based on the quantize setting which you can freely change and notes will adapt accordingly but not physically move. So in theory, you don’t need to adjust the uTime as it will audibly be done for you.

This works in theory and is flexible, but in practice seeing steps positioned ‘wrong’ is a little odd and can cause issues down the line when you’re eyeballing a pattern (eg: why is that step positioned there?). This happens a lot if your playing is off (like me) and so you then spend a frustrating amount of time moving steps back into place.

Also sometimes you want full control over the exact positioning of notes with manual timing adjustments (so no quantize). And that will inevitably mean moving every note, once to get them on grid and again for any you want deliberately off grid.