Total noob, hardware question

Hi all,

I am new to the world of synths. I recently purchased a pyramid and am wondering: can I connect all my synths without buying more hardware (midi merger)? I primarily live jam and want to be able to play my synths and record into the pyramid (loop style) while also controlling the synths with the pyramid.

I have the following:
Roland Tr8
Sequential profit rev 2 (2 separate outs, acts like 2 instruments)
Kong Minilogue xd

Thanks!

Taylor

That amount of hardware shouldn’t introduce very much MIDI latency but you might want to experiment with the connection order and split the hardware between both of the outputs.

1 Like

Cool, thanks. What about putting them back into the pyramid for looping? Would I just do a full loop through all three?

Can you clarify the question? Typically one chooses which of their synths they will use to create lines with… You then switch which track you are recording to…

I am less clear on the omni stuff and you might have to provide a setup example for others to troubleshoot if an issue arises… Though… from just a glance I would guess that you would most likely use the minilogue as your input synth.

1 Like

Yeah, my lack of knowledge is the barrier to explaining clearly.

Basically, I am wondering if I can do what this guy has set up without buying anything else.

He has all of his synths connected to the pyramid with both midi in and out so he can record live playing into the sequencer, or use the sequencer to play any of the synths when building songs.

Yes, absolutely… Entirely possible… and without the need for any merge/scripting boxes with the amount of hardware you have.

3 Likes

Welcome to the Squarp Community

@Ezmyrelda posted some excellent info for you to get your started.
If I may chime in with:

• Remember MIDI is not Audio and Audio is not MIDI. (MIDI is data - as in what keys you press, how hard, etc; Audio is made by your synths from the data)