An idea for Sequences

I am new to Pyramid but after a day of learning and researching, it seems SEQ mode leaves a lot to be desired. I think it deserves a revamp.

I noticed that recently the note limit was increased to 13000.

What if a Sequence was expanded with a special MIDI track, and internally, notes and CC would trigger and mute/unmute tracks and patterns. This would enable the user to be entirely free to chain as many patterns and track mutes and unmutes as there is note memory left. Additionally, it would be very nice if you could navigate through this track page-by-page like you can do in Step mode, and enter mutes and pattern changes live or step-by-step.

To enter this new advanced Sequence mode, the shortcut could be STEP+SEQ.

One great advantage of using MIDI data behind the scenes is sequences could be imported into a DAW and edited there, or created entirely in a DAW if one feels more efficient that way.

What do you think?

3 Likes

Greetings and welcome to the Forum.

For me, I’m not quite getting what you’re trying to achieve. More Events?

You can already do this with a loopback - check out the PyraOS MIDI Implementation: you can use MIDI Events to Mute/Unmute Tracks & Patterns and control MIDIFx, including such things as if you use the Chance 0% hack.

Internal routing would be amazing and I would use that for SO MUCH, but I personally don’t think that’s in the cards. A Feature Request to Squarp is the best bet for that, too.

Yeah, only 32 SEQ. I personally don’t use this mode at all (don’t ask, lest you are fond of neurodivergent rambling and slightly interesting but rather tedious workflows which do “meh, kinda kool, but still: meh”), but also keep in mind that once a SEQ is activated, you are still free to modify what/how Tracks are playing by:

• Muting/Unmuting Tracks manually
  • Use the Chance0% tied to an Encoder to bring in/drop out Track Note Events