Issue with Step Sequencing

Hello, this is my first time posting on the forum. I am using both Pyramid and Hermod and loving both! My issue is with hermod when recording a manual step sequence. I saw Loopop do it in his Pyramid vs. Hermod video. When I play back the sequence, the pitch is so much lower that it is inaudible. This does not happen when recording live. Any ideas or what is wrong?

1 Like

hi,
Are you sequencing midi or cv ? Are you using an additional effect like “scale” ? It could be the “root note” set too low in the “midi effect”…

Thanks for the response,
I am using both midi and CV to input the note (Pittsburgh KB-1, SL88) with no effects present other than midi of course.

1 Like

I’ve noticed this too.

Lots of pitch oddities at the moment. C5 sounds more like C3, and CV vs Midi seem to be different.
Recording external CV plays back an octave lower.
I’m not sure what it is, but something seems to be out of sync in terms of pitches.

I work around this by transposing the recorded material, or if it’s vital that the recording be precise then I actually change the pitch of the source so that the end results are what I am looking for.

There is a transpose feature in the scale effect, which can make quick work of this. Also you can adjust the root note of the midi if you want to bring it down an octave, but doing this every time is strange so I don’t tend to use that feature.

Regardless, I hope the pitch/tune issue gets addressed, I find it very frustrating to have so many inconsistencies between my devices, especially with a brain/sequencer. I need C3 to be C3 and 120 bpm to be 120 bpm everywhere I go.

I believe they will address this and get it all sorted, but for now it’s workarounds.